Most often emails are highlighted during drag & drop or delete operations to visually outline messages that would be affected by the operation. On rare occasions, if the operation was terminated suddenly (e.g., network failure) while the drag and drop highlight for the selected email was active, the email will remain underlined in the message-list view. This visual distinction may cause concern. This article details how to remove the drag and drop highlight that sometimes remains visible on emails.
Figure 2 - Normal email highlight